ICC Cricket World Cup Champions History

ICC cricket world cup winners list

ICC cricket world cup winners list

International Cricket Council organizes ICC World Cup in every four years since 1975 when first ever cricket world cup was played in England. West Indies won the first two editions of world cup in 1975 and 1979.

Australia is the most successful cricket team in ICC world cup as they became world cricket champions for record 5 times. They are the only side who have won three successive championships in 1999, 2003 and 2007.

ICC cricket world cup winners list

West Indies and India have also won ICC world cups on two-two occasions each. Latest edition of ICC CWC was hosted by Australia and New Zealand in 2015 which won by Australia defeating New Zealand in the final at MCG, Melbourne.

Let’s checkout the list of winners and runners-up in ICC cricket world cup.

ICC World Cup Winner List

1975 West Indies Australia London (England)
1979 West Indies England London (England)
1983 India West Indies London (England)
1987 Australia England Kolkata (India, Pakistan)
1992 Pakistan England Melbourne (Australia, New Zealand)
1996 Sri Lanka Australia Lahore (Pakistan, India, Sri Lanka)
1999 Australia Pakistan London (England, Wales)
2003 Australia India Johannesburg (South Africa)
2007 Australia Sri Lanka Bridgetown (West Indies)
2011 India Sri Lanka Mumbai (India, Sri Lanka, Bangladesh)
2015 Australia New Zealand Melbourne (Australia, New Zealand)
2019 TBC TBC London (England, Wales)
2023 TBC TBC TBC (India)

Which team will win upcoming ICC World Cup in 2019?

Your thoughts?

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *